2023: APC factions in Cross River fuse to dethrone PDP

Anjola Folajimi,Abuja
Ahead 2023 general elections the two factions in All Progressives Congress ( APC) have fused into one with a 36-man harmonised Caretaker Committee to run the affairs of the party in the state.
The party is also poised to take over the state from the ruling Proples Democratic Party (PDP) by 2023.
Under the new arrangement, Senator Matthew T Mbu Jnr now heads the new Caretaker Committee while Barrister Richard Ogbeche is deputy chairman and Dr. Ntete Bassey Duke to serve as Secretary
Indication to this was contained in a letter dated 11th January, 2021, copy of which was made available to newsmen in Abuja by the State Acting Chairman, Senator Mbu.
The letter was to inform the Chairman Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) of the party, Governor Mai Mala Buni of the new development in the state.
In the letter, stakeholders in the state disclosed of their resolve to work together for the unity of the party in the state in order to position the party to win elections and take over the state in 2023 general elections from the ruling PDP.
Stakeholders also resolved that the 36-man Caretaker Committee members shall not aspire to run for any office in the forth coming congresses in the state in the spirit of transparency.
The letter reads in part: “I write to submit the harmonised list of members of the APC Cross River State Caretaker Committee executive.
“The two factions of the former executives came together and resolved to put their differences aside and work fot the commons good of our party. This has put to rest the existence of factions within the ranks of APC Cross River State and led to the emergence of a single APC Caretaker Committee executive.
“The stakeholders have resolved to work together for the unity of our party in order to position thr party effectively to win elections and take over the state in 2023 general elections.”
The letter further stated that the 36-member State Caretaker Committee have been mandated to work with their leaders and carry out similar harmonisation and unification of the factions across the local government, wards and units within one week.
Other members of the state Caretaker Committee are Rufus Eyie – Assistant Secretary, Effiong Olory – Zonal Vice Chairman South, Sunny Ndem – Zonal Vice Chairman Central, Godwin Egba – Zonal Vice Chairman North, while Barrister Emmanuel Adie – Legal Adviser, Hon. Mike Agbeh – Treasurer, Missang Efim Eka – Financial Secretary, while Owan Ekpe is made Organising Secretary and Bassey Ekpenyong Ita – Publicity Secretary.
Also on the committee are Hon. Who Egbai – Welfare Secretary, Cyril David Ene – Auditor, Hon. Esther Bepeh – Woman Leader, Effiom-Ekaha Out – Youth Leader and Offiong Effanga Okon – Special (Physically Challenged) Leader.

Related posts

Leave a Comment