BREAKING: APC rejects list of National Assembly Principal Officers announced by Akpabio, Tajudeen Abbas

A fresh crisis is looming in the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) as the National Chairman of the party, Abdullahi Adamu, disowned the list of principal officers announced by the leadership of the two chambers of the National Assembly on Tuesday.



The President of the Senate, Senator Godswill Akpabio announced Senator Opeyemi Bamidele, APC, Ekiti Central as the Senate Majority leader and former Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume, APC, Borno South as the Senate Chief Whip.


He also announced Senator Dave Umahi, APC, Ebonyi South as the Deputy Leader and Senator Lola Ashiru , APC, Kwara South as the Deputy Whip.


Similarly, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajudeen Abbas announced Rt. Hon. Julius Ihonvbere (Edo) as the House Majority Leader and Rt. Hon. Usman Kumo (Gombe) as Chief Whip.


Abbas also named Hon. Halims Abdulahi from Kogi as Deputy Majority Leader and Hon. Oriyomi Onanuga from Ogun as the Deputy Chief Whip.


All the names announced are members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).


However, Adamu reacting during a meeting of the party’s National Working Committee and Progressives Governors’ Forum in Abuja said the National Assembly breached protocol by announcing the principal officers without the knowledge of the party.


Constitutionally, the party is supposed to send the name of the principal officers to the leadership of the National Assembly.


Senator Adamu has suggested that this was not the case, indicating a deeply divided ruling party in the early days of the Bola Tinubu-led administration.


Related posts