FG rescues 30 stranded Nigerians in Lebanon 

Spread the love

Thirty Nigerians in a viral video appealing for help have been rescued by the Nigerian Mission in Lebanon , and have been relocated to a more conducive apartment

The distressed Nigerians would be part of One Hundred and Fifty others trafficked and stranded in Lebanon to be evacuated back to Nigeria. The Lebanese Ambassador to Nigeria Mr Houssam Diab disclosed the evacuation plans when the Management of Nigerians in Diaspora Commission, NIDCOM, led by the Secretary Engr. Dr Sule Yakubu Bassi visited the Embassy in Abuja.

Ambassador Diab stated that the One Hundred and fifty girls will be returned home in batches. The first batch of One Hundred and Ten(110) will leave Beirut, Lebanon on 12th, August, 2020 to Lagos while the Second Batch will be returned to Abuja on 16th, August, 2020. The Diplomat commended the efforts of the Lebanese Community and the Oyo State Government who is sponsoring the return of Fifty-five(55) of the girls.
In the same vein, the Secretary to Nigerians in Diaspora Commission Dr Sule Yakubi Bassi on behalf of the Chairman/CEO NIDCOM, Hon Abike Dabiri-Erewa applauded the excellent ties existing between Nigeria and Lebanon and urged both countries to sustain the cordial relationship. Dr Bassi also commended the dedication and commitment of Nigerian Ambassador to Lebanon Amb. Goni Madu Zanna Bura, Mission staff, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Oyo and Ogun State Governments,and other strategic partners.

As part of the Nigerian Embassy’s Consular responsibility, the ladies on the said video that went viral and many other distressed Nigerian domestic workers were located and relocated to a more safer place. Suffice to say that 150 of these stranded victims are expected to be evacuated next week and handed over to Naptip, the agency responsible for traficking

A break down shows:

1. Oyo State—— 41
2. Ogun — 21
3. Lagos — 12
4. Ondo — 18
5. Osun — 26
6. Imo — 3
7. Kwara– 9
8. Enugu — 1
9. Ekiti — 6
10. Kogi — 1
11. Edo — 1
12. Delta — 3
13. Ebonyi — 1
14. Benue — 1
15. Abia — 1
16. Akwa Ibom — 1
17. Anambra — 1


Related posts

Leave a Comment