MILLETS PRODUCTION: Niger Govt mulls partnership with Indian Govt

Niger State Government has said that it was exploring partnership with the Indian Government in the production and promotion of Millets in the State.

This was disclosed by the State Governor, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello at the International Year of Millets 2023 held at the High Commission of India in Abuja.
The Governor who was represented by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Ahmed Ibrahim Matane further explained that the State has numerous opportunities in the agricultural sector, particularly in the areas of Millets production and promotion.
The Governor expressed optimism that the collaboration would also improve the production of the crop as well as enhance Farmers’ income and attract more youth to Millets cultivation.
According to Governor Sani Bello, “the crop is gaining renewed popularity because of how versatile and easy to grow”.
He commended the Indian High Commission for organizing this year’s event, stressing that Millets value chain has a lot of employment opportunities.
In his remarks, the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, represented by Engr. Abdullahi Abubakar, Director of Agriculture in the Ministry hinted that the Ministry has been promoting Millets production and value addition towards self-sufficiency and meeting industrial requirements in the country.
The Minister of Agriculture revealed that the event was to reawakened the conscience of Nigeria Millets Farmers to adopt Good Agronomics Practices to improve their livelihood and GDP of the country.
Earlier in his address, the Indian High Commissioner to Nigeria, Shri Balasubramanian stated that India has indicated it’s willingness to partner with Niger State in Millets production and promotion.
The representative of Governor had earlier paid a courtesy visit to the Indian High Commissioner to Nigeria in his office.
Dignitaries from Niger State that graced the occasion include, the Etsu Nupe and Chairman, Niger State Council of Traditional Rulers, Alhaji Yahaya Abubakar, the Commissioners of Agriculture and Lands, Alhaji Yusuf Gunu and Danladi Liman Mahmud Doko, Permanent Secretaries of Ministries of Agriculture and Finance, Idris Usman Gbogan and Akilu Musa.

Related posts