Organizers of Arojah Students Playwriting prize announce Judges

Spread the love

The organizers of The Arojah Students Playwriting Prize, the Arojah Royal Theatre in a statement signed by Artistic Director,Arojah Theatre concept,Om’Oba Jerry Adesewo,has announced the judges for the maiden edition of the competition.

It would be recalled that the competition was open for submission of works by Nigerian students sometime ago in February, 2020 and closed on May 31, 2020 after it was extended for another one month in order to allow for maximum participation.

The three-man jury consists of distinguished playwrights and scholars.

The list included:

1. Ola Ifatimehin, Ph.D, a playwright, theatre scholar and Head of the Department of Theatre and Performing Arts, Bayero University, Kano.

2. Isaach Attah Ogezi, a multiple award-winning playwright and lawyer, and

3. Okeke Izuchukwu Job, a Korean based playwright, scholar and communication expert

Ola Ifatimehin, Ph.D, will serve as chairman of judges.

The theme for this year’s edition is centered on good governance and accountability, and the consequences of corruption and the exigency of transparency in our official and private lives.

The Chief objective of the prize, supported by the MacArthur Foundation and Centre for Information and Technology Development (CITAD), is to nurture a new generation of playwrights, by providing them with a solid platform to accentuates their passion and art.

The organizers also hoped that by constructing plays along the theme of corruption, good governance, accountability and transparency, young Nigerians would further appreciate the ills associated with the pandemic of corruption as a global phenomenon and become ambassadors of integrity.

“A longlist will be announced on Saturday, August 1, 2020 and the winner will be announced at a brief award ceremony in Abuja in October 2020”.

“We wish the participants best of luck”.Adesewo said.


Related posts

Leave a Comment