Supreme Court upholds Adeleke victory as Osun Governor

Supreme Court has affirmed Governor Ademola Adeleke as the winner of Osun Governorship election held on July 16, 2022.

The five-member panel of the Apex court agreed with the Judgement of the Court of Appeal, which reversed the January 27 judgement of the Election Petition Tribunal, Oshogbo, sacking Adeleke as Governor, ordering a withdrawal of the certificate of return issued to him.
The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the poll, saying he scored 403,371 votes to sack Oyetola who was the then incumbent with 375,027.
But Oyetola and his party – the All Progressives Congress (APC) – had alleged irregularities in the polls and challenged Adeleke’s victory in the tribunal.
Respite came for the former governor on January 27, 2023, as Justice Tertse Kume who gave the majority judgement upturned Adeleke’s victory and declared Oyetola the winner of the poll.

Related posts