APC inaugurates Caretaker,Extraordinary convention committee

Spread the love

All Progressives Congress (APC) has inaugurated Caretaker and an Extraordinary Convention Committee that would organize and spearhead the election of the new leadership of the party.

The inauguration, which took place at the party’s National Secretariat in Abuja, was Presided over by the Governor of Yobe State, Mai Mala Buni who is also the Chairman of the committee.

Outgone APC Acting National Chairman, Victor Gaidon handing over to the Chairman of newly inaugurated caretaker committee,Governor Mai Mala Buni at the party Secretariat on Monday in Abuja

The inauguration event had, in attendance, Governor Abubakar Sani Bello of Niger state, Chairman North Central Governors’ Forum, and North-central APC Chairman among others.

The oath of office and allegiance was administered on the 13-member committee by the Legal Director of the APC, Barrister Dare Oketade.

Members of newly inaugurated Caretaker and Extraordinary Convention Committee taking oath of allegiance in Abuja

In his inaugural speech, the Committee Chairman, Governor Mai Mala Buni of Yobe State, stressed that the trust and confidence reposed in them by the majority of the people, who voted massively for the party, must not be jeopardized.

Governor Buni said that the internal crises that have engulfed the party of recent are nothing new stressed that the committee will immediately commence truce negotiation between the leaders and members of the party.

“What happened to us, as a Party, in the last few months is not totally strange in a big political party such as the APC. Internal disagreements are common in all political parties, and ours is not an exception”, he said.

He urged party members who are aggrieved to abide by the appeal of their leader, President Muhammadu Buhari, and the decision of the National Executive Committee (NEC) by withdrawing all cases instituted in the courts.

The Governor, while thanking all stakeholders and members of the party for their belief, respect, and trust in Mr. President and the decision of NEC, urged them to give his committee the needed support in order to reconcile and settle all differences amongst the aggrieved members and chart the way forward.

He said, being a party of people of integrity, the committee will, in the next few days, be engaged in carrying out medium and long term development strategies to deepen their internal organization and support as well as their chances of electoral successes in all forthcoming elections.

Meanwhile the outgone acting National Chairman, Victor Gaidon has handed over the affairs of the party to the newly inaugurated committee and assured that the caliber of persons selected and appointed to serve in the extraordinary convention committee will work towards repositioning their great party as well as having a successful convention.

The committee comprises of Governor Mai Mala Buni (Yobe) Chairman, Isiaka Oyetola (SW), Ken Nnamani (SE), Stella Okorete (Women Rep), Governor Abubakar Sani Bello of Niger State (NC). Others are Dr. James Lalu (physically challenged), Sen. Abubakar Yusuf (Senate Rep), Hon. Akinyemi Olaide – House of Reps), David Leon (SS), Abba Ari (NW), Prof. Tahir Mamman (NE), Ismail Ahmed -(Youth), and Sen. Akpan Udoedehe is the Secretary.


Related posts

Leave a Comment