Oyo Assembly passes Tourism and Hospitality bill into law

The Oyo State House of Assembly has passed the State Tourism and Hospitality bill into law.
The bill which was passed during House plenary is meant to regulate tourism and hospitality services in Oyo State.
With the passage of the bill, three laws namely ; Hotels (Registration and Classification) Law, 2000, Innkeepers and Hotel Proprietors Law, 2000 and Oyo State Tourism Board Law, 2000 were consequently repealed while it has became practically impossible for anyone to operate tourism and hospitality business without being duly registered.
Presenting the report of the House Committee on Culture and Tourism, the Committee Chairman, Hon Isiaka Tunde,Oyo East/West said the new law was aimed at presenting a comprehensive and detailed legal framework for the regulation and promotion of activities and operations of those in the tourism and hospitality industry in Oyo State.
He said this would further help in the overall growth and development of the sector as well as provide enabling environment for investors to tap into the rich tourism and hospitality potentials of the State.
According to Hon Isiaka Tunde, the new law equally seeks to help in boosting the internally generated revenue of the state from the industry.
Commenting on the passage of the bill, the Speaker Oyo State House of Assembly, Hon Adebo Ogundoyin said the new Tourism and Hospitality law was another milestone in the annals of history of the 9th Oyo State as it will not only regularize and professionalize the industry but also ensure the provision of a database for all practitioners and people in the sector.
The Speaker noted that ” we are happy to pass this bill into law. With this the sector is being repositioned in line with the best international practices. A State can gain so much from its tourism and hospitality industry. It can create income and generate jobs as a fast growing sector.”
The Oyo State Tourism and Hospitality bill, 2020 was jointly sponsored by Hon Isiaka Kazeem Tunde (Oyo East/West), the Deputy Speaker, Hon Abiodun Muhammed Fadeyi, Hon Asimiyu Alarape the Minority Leader, Hon Ayo Fatokun the Chairman Parliamentary Council, Hon Bimbo Oladeji (Ogbomoso North), Hon Akeem Obadara (Ibadan North West), Hon Lateef Adebunmi (Oorelope) and Hon Olusegun Popoola (Ibadan South East 2)

Related posts