PMB Extends Tenure of CDS,Service Chiefs

President Muhammadu Buhari has extended the tenure of the service Chiefs including that of Chief of Defence.

President Muhammadu Buhari was said to have carefully reviewed the on-going military operations across the nation and the efforts of the Chief of Defence staff and the Service chiefs in the counter insurgency operations in the North East coupled with the security situation of the Niger Delta region, approved the extension of tenure of service of General Abayomi Gabriel Olonisakin, the Chief of Defence Staff, Lieutenant General Tukur Yusufu Buratai Chief of Army Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok-EteIkwe Ibas, the Chief of Naval staff and Air Marshal Sadique Baba Abubakar, the Chief of Air staff.

According to a statement signed by
Colonel Tukur Gusau, Public Relations Officer to the Hon Minister of Defence,the extension was pursuant of the powers conferred on the President and Commander in chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria by section 218 (1) and (2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and section 09.06 of the Harmonised Terms and Conditions for Service for officers (2012) Revised.

However, the Honourable Minister of Defence Mansur Muhammad Dan-Ali has congratulated the Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chiefs for earning the confidence of the President, Commander in Chief of the Armed Force of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the people of Nigeria leading to the extension of their tenure.

Related posts