UNIFEMGA honours 20 members in Ilorin

The Obafemi Awolowo University Muslim Graduates Association (UNIFEMGA) will on February 8, honour 20 of its members for their achievements and contributions to the development of the association in 2019.

In a statement issued by Alhaji Mohammed Buari, the National Public Relations Officer said that the ninth in the series of the honours’ day will hold in Ilorin, Kwara State capital.

Those to be honoured include a Head of Service, four Professors, eight Ph.D Holders, two permanent Secretaries, two Directors, one Medical Consultant, One Chief Medical Director and a General Manager.

The Head of Service is Alhaja Amidat Ololade Agboola of Oyo state civil service, Professors include Akeem Amodu of Lead City University, Maruf Adabanija of LAUTECH, Ibrahim Oreagba of UNILAG and S.I. Ola of OAU, while the duo of Dr Muftau Ayoola and Dr Bashir Olanrewaju would be honoured as Permanent secretaries in Oyo state Civil Service.

Others were Mohammed Buari, General Manager, International Routing and Roaming, MTN Global Connect, South Africa, Prof. Hakeem Lasisi, Chief Medical Director of LAUTECH Teaching Hospital, Osogbo, Dr. Kusimo Adeneye Rabiu, Director, Lafiya Hospital, Dr Bioku Muftau, Consultant Urologist, Abuja, and Alhaji Muhammad Kabir Yusuf, Director, Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD).

Other honorees were Ph.D holders, Dr. Jadesinmi Mohammed, Dr. Musibau O. Azeez, Dr. Adenike Sola Olatinwo, Dr. B. W. Shiyanbade, Dr. M. A. Lateef, Dr. O. A. Nofiu, Dr. M. O. Isa and Dr. A. O. Hassan

Buari said Professor Ibrahim Adekunle Oreagba of the Department of Pharmacology, Therapeutics and Toxicology, College of Medicine University of Lagos will deliver the lecture of the day entitled “Disease State Management: Understanding the Roles of Orthodox and Natural Medicine”

The statement added that Professor Abdullahi Dasilva Yusuf, The Chief Medical Director, University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital would be the chairman of the occasion.

Speaking on the uniqueness of the UNIFEMGA 2020 Honours Day, Alhaji Waheed Odeyimka, its National President, said those to be honoured were carefully selected and have excelled themselves in various fields of human endeavours.

Odeyimka said that the two-day event would also serve as a mini-reunion of members as there would be a National Executive Committee meeting of the association, to be hosted by Malam Yusuf Olaolu Ali (SAN).

Since 2011 when the maiden edition of the National Honours’ Day started, 120 members have so far been honoured and rewarded for their landmark achievements.

UNIFEMGA, whose vision statement is to be the foremost Muslim Alumni Association in the World, is an association of Muslim Graduates from the then University of Ife as well as Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State.

Related posts