UNIFEMGA Honours Outstanding Members

The Obafemi Awolowo University Muslim Graduates Association (UNIFEMGA) will on Saturday honour five of its members for their achievements and contributions to the development of the association.

In a statement issued by Alhaji Mohammed Buari, the National Public Relations Officer, the seventh in the series of the Honours’ Day, will hold in Ilorin, Kwara State capital, on Saturday, February 17.

Those to be honored include two Professors and three Ph.D holders.

The Professors are Prof. Mutalib Aderogba of the Department of Chemistry Obafemi Awolowo University, while Professor Olufemi Shaibu is a Professor of Economics with a passion for the introduction of Islamic Economics and Finance courses in Nigerian Uinversities.

Buari said the Hon. Justice Abdullahi Idrees Haroon, former Grand Khadi Shariah Court of Appeal and Proprietor of Al Mawrid School, will deliver the lecture of the day entitled “Status attainment: An Inevitable Compromise to Islamic Moral Regeneration?”.

The statement added that Prof. Sulayman Age Abdulkareem, the Vice Chancellor, University of Ilorin, would be the Chairman of the occasion.

Speaking on the uniqueness of the UNIFEMGA 2018 Honours Day, the National President of the Association, Alhaji Waheed Odeyimka, said those to be honoured were carefully selected and have excelled themselves in various fields of human endeavour.
Odeyimka said that the two-day event would also serve as a mini-reunion of members as there would be a National Executive Committee meeting of the association, to be hosted by Malam Yusuf Olaolu Ali (SAN).

“Since 2011 when the maiden edition of the National Honours’ Day started, 100 members have so far been honoured and rewarded for their landmark achievements.”Odeyimka stated

UNIFEMGA is an association of Muslim Graduates from the then University of Ife now known as the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Osun State.

Related posts